

32nd Annual Department of Chemistry

SCHOLARSHIP & ALUMNI

BANQUET

MARCH 28, 2019 5:00 - 8:00 P.M. GIBBONS ALUMNI

CENTER
TRADITIONS HALL
ALC 100

Schedule

5:00 P.M. – 5:30 P.M. COCKTAILS & CONVERSATIONS

5:30 P.M. – 6:00 P.M.

DINNER SERVICE

6:05 P.M.

OPENING REMARKS

Chair Wayne Guida

6:10 P.M.

PRESENTATION OF HONOR ROLL & UNDERGRADUATE AWARDS

6:45 P.M. - 7:00 P.M.

INTERMISSION & DESSERT BAR

7:00 P.M.

PRESENTATION OF DIVISION AWARDS

7:30 P.M.

PRESENTATION OF GRADUATE AWARDS

8:00 P.M.

PRESENTATION OF TEACHING AWARD & CLOSING REMARKS

Chair Wayne Guida

Award Winners

2019 OUTSTANDING CHEMISTRY ALUMNI AWARD RECIPIENT

Dr. Richard William Hoerbelt

Class of '66

GRADUATE AWARD WINNERS

Theodore and Venette Askounes Ashford Doctoral Fellowship in
Chemistry- Yassin Elbatrawi & Bo Song
Barbara B. Martin Endowed Fellowship in Chemistry - Lei Wang
Alexious Award in Environmental Chemistry - Gaurav Verma
The George Bursa Award - Nicole Avalon & Guy Dayhoff
Martin Travel Award - Elena Bray, Amber Prins Dood, Benjamin Rathman, Guizella
Rocabado, Matthew Sarnowski, & Khalilia Tillett

UNDERGRADUATE COUNCIL AWARDS

American Institute of Chemists Award - Sandra Khalife
Calvin Maybury Department Scholarship, B.S. - Eaindra Yee
Dean Martin Outstanding Chemistry Major, B.A. - Sahrain Zahoor
Dean Martin Outstanding Chemistry Major, B.S. - Elizabeth Ruscitti
Outstanding Biomedical Science Award - Anisha Joshi
Phi Lambda Upsilon Award- Joanne Donovan
Richard Bowman Scholarship - Thrisna Singh
Graham Solomons Department Scholarship, B.A. - Yuliana Perdomo

UNDERGRADUATE RESEARCH AWARD WINNERS

T.C. Owen Outstanding Undergraduate Research Award- **Joanne Donovan** Clear Springs Land Undergraduate Research Award- **Amanda Rose Pittman**

Award Winners

DIVISION AWARD WINNERS

ANALYTICAL DIVISION

ACS Analytical Chemistry Award - Kory Love
Hypercube Scholar - Colette Taylor
Robert S. Braman Analytical Chemistry Award - Brianna Leone

BIOCHEMISTRY DIVISION

T.C. Owen Biochemistry Award - Grace Lloyd

GENERAL CHEMISTRY DIVISION

Jesse S. Binford General Chemistry Award - Ahan Kayastha

INORGANIC CHEMISTRY DIVISION

Joseph Stanko Inorganic Chemistry Award - Tess Kaiser Jay Worrell Memorial Scholarship - Colette Taylor

ORGANIC CHEMISTRY DIVISION

George Wenzinger Memorial Scholarship - Emma Doukmak

Jack E. Fernandez Organic Chemistry Award - Ignacio Quintana Goicoechea

PHYSICAL CHEMISTRY DIVISION

Jeff C. Davis Physical Chemistry Award - Harper Cassady

SALLY EVERETT MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP

Mary Pfaefflin Phung Phong McKayla Shahan Oanh Tran

OUTSTANDING PEER LEADING AWARD

Julia Troncoso Lauren Baak

Honor Roll

Aliaa Albaba Sheon Baby Alena Bashinskaya Joseph Basi Rhea Bhatt Richa Bisht

Jade Brunicardi Benjamin Carr

Noureddeen Bitar

Harper Cassady Deanna Chan Rashida Chatani

Christina Deinnocentiis

Joanne Donovan Emma Doukmak

Emil Espinal Rojin Fatirkhorani

Angela Gabay

Rebeca Gonzalez Jauregui

Abigail Hazlett Mckenzi Heide Anna Hemminger Sandra Henein Megan Hoedt Nina Hong Tri Huynh

Alexa Ignacio
Bakr Jandali
Shalini Jose
Anisha Joshi
Carine Kambou
Abrar Karim
Obada Kattih

Kilian Kelly Lauren Kenney Roy Khalife Sandra Khalife Mohammed Khatil

Mohammed Khatib Sojeong Kim

Danielle Kirchgessner

Jeremy Kirey
Nathan Le
Brianna Leone
Mina Loka
Kory Love
Cassandra Ly
Christopher Malai

Christopher Malanga Joshua Mamott Sahith Mandala

Lauren Manganiello Sean Mann Ashley Mason Brittany Matheney

Asmaa Mohamed Hussien Mohamed Ercilia Moncayo

Jamie Newland Van Nguyen Charles Nyberg Angie Ocampo George Padilla Francisco Pascual

Yuliana Perdomo Andres Perez Emily Phan Luke Posgai Lexia Quinlisk Zain Rahmat

Andrew Rennie Megan Rivera

Stephanie Roberts

Gianna Rotyliano-Sykes

Elizabeth Ruscitti Xenia Sailors Magali Salinas Miguel Samonte Noah Sanders Sonal Sian Natalia Sidhom Thrisna Singh

Marielle Skairus

Kenneth Leroy Stuck

Nader Tabsh Shah Taj Jamie Thomas Nicole Topp Gustavo Velasquez

Jimmy Vo Eaindra Yee Sahrain Zahoor Astrid Zuniga

Sponsors

We would like to thank each of our contributors who helped make this banquet possible through their generous donations. We would also like to thank those who generously sponsored students to attend our banquet and those who sponsored specific awards.

ATOMIC SPONSORS

Barbara Martin Dr. Joseph Stanko
Dr. Dean Martin Dr. Jay Worrell
Dr. Graham Solomons ProCopy

IRON SPONSORS

Bausch and Lomb ProCopy

Dr. Wayne Guida Sam Shrivastava- Ibis Therapeutics

Dr. Robert Potter

STUDENT SPONSORS

Dr. Bill Baker
Dr. Theresa Evans-Nguyen
Dr. Jhon Figueroa
Lorene Hall-Jennings
Dr. Randy Larsen

Daniel Perez
Dr. Robert Potter
ProCopy
Dr. Xiaopeng Li

CORPORATE AND ORGANIZATIONAL SPONSORS

American Chemical Society
American Institute of Chemists
Clear Springs Land
Hypercube Inc.
Phi Lambda Upsilon





BAUSCH+LOMB

